flower beds

100_3749edit-1737682161-O

25 comments

  1. thanks Mona, that’s very kind of you.
    Color isolation is a new thing to me as well, I’ve just learned how to do it these past few days. I use photoshop (new to that too) and it’s not too hard really. For this one, I created two layer duplicates, and then added layer masks to those (doesn’t fully make sense to me, but I found the steps on youtube) and selected green and yellow as their individual color ranges. then i desaturated the base layer. if you want, i can find you some links to tutorials.
    thanks again!

  2. I never understood what layer masks were about…I love this photo and the way the daff’s pop against the B&W! Very nice!

    A quick note of thanks for signing up to follow my blog and for the like!

  3. I like the black and white and color, and I like the contrast between old house and new flowers.. death and rebirth.

  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog; it’s always nice to have visitors. I like the composition and contrast between monochrome and color; very effective in this photo.

  5. This is a fantastic picture! How? It looks like you combined a black and white photograph with a colored photograph. I know that’s possible, but I do not know HOW one can do that. I love the details of that house. I like old houses, in the same that I like an older person’s face – wrinkles denote a life well lived. I think this house is “well-lived”. 😀

    • Thank you very much. It really did feel well lived, that’s the perfect way to describe it.
      To make this image, I isolated these shades of green and yellow in Photoshop (using duplicate layers/masks) and then desaturated the rest of the image. I’m relatively new to photoshop, but this was something I really wanted to try. Using youtube videos, I figured it out fairly quickly. If you need help finding a tutorial, I’d be happy to point you in the right direction

  6. It is amazing how the environment always lives out the inhabitants; the people are gone but the trees are growing and the daffodils will continue to flower each spring… Thanks for liking and following my blog! I am honored!

  7. This is a wonderful picture. I really like what you’ve done with the contrast between the flowers and the house. It’s inviting and at the same time slightly frightening.


Leave a Reply

